Theatre, Circus, Dance
Pastevent

Homer's Coat

An Iliad

USA

16-26 Feb 2014

Performed by Denis O’Hare
Written by Denis O’Hare and Lisa Peterson
Based on Homer’s Iliad
Translated by Robert Fagles
Directed by Lisa Peterson

Australian Premiere

 

An Iliad is pure theatre: shocking, glorious, primal and deeply satisfying. TIME OUT NEW YORK

A tale of gods and goddesses, undying love and endless battles, told by a single narrator whose enigmatic stories reverberate with today’s headlines.

Homer’s epic of war at the gates of Troy is thrillingly transformed in the natural scenic beauty of the Sunken Gardens, as Tony Award winner Denis O’Hare brings this classic tale into the modern day with a tour de force performance. 

Over 90 profoundly entertaining minutes, O’Hare is our guide for one of history’s greatest adventures, exploring humanity’s unshakeable attraction to violence, destruction and chaos.

ARTIST TALK: Wed 19 Feb, post-show

Captioned Session: Tue 25 Feb

Show duration: 90min no interval
Outdoor venue with reserved seating

You can view and download you program here.


To buy tickets for the Great Southern performance of An Iliad click here.

Why not share the experience with your friends? Click the icon to go to our Social Tix app where you can create an event via Facebook, invite your friends and even book tickets. Organising has never been easier! 

                                                                                       

Image: Joan Marcus

Date

16-26 Feb 2014
Sunken Gardens

Sun 16 Feb, 8pm
Mon 17 Feb, 8pm
Tue 18 Feb, 8pm
Wed 19 Feb, 8pm
Fri 21 Feb, 8pm
Sat 22 Feb, 8pm
Sun 23 Feb, 8pm
Tue 25 Feb, 8pm
Wed 26 Feb, 8pm

Albany Entertainment Centre

Fri 28 Feb, 8pm

Price

$25-$59
General Admission $59
Friends $53
Conc $55
FT Student (U30) $25

You might also like

Sponsors

Supported by