Classical Music

Musica Viva

Kelemen Quartet


Mon 17 Feb 2014

Highly inflected and vividly interactive music-making. The most electrifying string-quartet concert in recent memory. 

Combining youthful brilliance with the finest Hungarian tradition, Kelemen Quartet evoke energetic flair, fierce artistic commitment and striking charisma.

Kelemen Quartet will perform the world premiere of the new string quartet by beloved Australian composer Ross Edwards. The evocatively titled Summer Dances is a wonderfully fitting match for this ensemble and will make for a rapturous performance.

The quartet also explore the fine Classical polish of Haydn and Beethoven, the rich melodies of Tchaikovsky, and the visceral beauty of Bartók.

HAYDN String Quartet in C major, Op. 20 No. 2 
BARTÓK String Quartet No. 4
EDWARDS String Quartet No. 3 Summer Dances
Commissioned for Musica Viva Australia by Kim Williams AM, in honour of the late Kenneth W Tribe AC 
BEETHOVEN String Quartet No. 9 in C major, Op. 59 No. 3, Razumovsky

Artist Talk:
Mon 17 Feb, pre-show at 6.30pm and post-show in foyer

Show duration: 1hr 55min with interval


Mon 17 Feb 2014
Perth Concert Hall

Mon 17 Feb, 7:30pm


A Reserve $73.00
A Reserve - Conc $64.00
B Reserve $51.00
B Reserve - Friends $45.90
B Reserve - Conc $44.00
C Reserve $34.00
C Reserve - Friends $30.60
C Reserve - Conc/FT Students (U30) $30.00

You might also like